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20.8A.1. Purpose 

Iowa Workforce Development (IWD) has been designated by the Governor as the State department 

responsible to administer the provisions of the Worker Adjustment and Retraining Notification Act 

(WARN) and Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) and to serve as the lead state agency 

for the coordination of services to workers and communities affected by business closings and mass layoffs, 

otherwise known as Rapid Response. WIOA and WARN legislation contain specific requirements for 

employers and Rapid Response Coordination in the event of a business closing or mass layoff. 

As the lead agency for Rapid Response, IWD must coordinate, communicate, and work with Regional 

IowaWORKS leadership (WIOA Title I Directors and IWD Operations Managers), Workforce 

Development Boards (WDBs), Chief Elected Officials (CEOs), and other stakeholders as appropriate. 

This will ensure coordination with all relevant parties so rapid response services can be delivered effectively. 

20.8A.2. WARN Law and Requirements 

The Federal WARN law requires employers, with some exceptions, to give at least (60) days advance notice 

of a business closing or mass layoff.  Both Federal and Iowa WARN were enacted to establish mandatory 

advance notice requirements in certain cases of plant closings and mass layoffs. WARN offers protection to 

workers, their families and communities by requiring employers to provide advance notice of plant closings 

and covered mass layoffs. This notice must be provided to either affected workers or their representatives 

(e.g., a labor union); to the State Dislocated Worker Unit (SDWU); and to the appropriate unit of local 

government (CEO). WARN only applies to qualifying temporary and permanent closings and mass layoffs. 

The following guidelines should be used to review and enhance local policies relating to WARN and Rapid 

Response in the Iowa’s local workforce development areas.  

 Federal WARN LAW Basic Requirements and Definitions 

The Worker Adjustment and Retraining Notification Act (WARN) was enacted on August 4, 1988 and 

became effective on February 4, 1989. 

Employer Coverage 

In general, employers are covered by WARN if they have 100 or more employees, not counting 

employees who have worked less than 6 months in the last 12 months and not counting employees who 

work an average of less than 20 hours a week. Private, for-profit employers and private, nonprofit employers 

are covered, as are public and quasi-public entities which operate in a commercial context and are 

separately organized from the regular government. Regular Federal, State, and local government entities 

which provide public services are not covered. 

Employee Coverage 

Employees entitled to notice under WARN include hourly and salaried workers, as well as managerial and 

supervisory employees. Business partners are not entitled to notice. 

What Triggers Notice 



Plant Closing:  

A covered employer must give notice if an employment site (or one or more facilities or operating units 

within an employment site) will be shut down, and the shutdown will result in an employment loss for 50 or 

more employees during any 30-day period. This does not count employees who have worked less than 6 

months in the last 12 months or employees who work an average of less than 20 hours a week for that 

employer. These latter groups, however, are entitled to notice.   

Mass Layoff:  

A covered employer must give notice if there is to be a mass layoff which does not result from a plant 

closing, but which will result in an employment loss at the employment site during any 30-day period for 

500 or more employees, or for 50-499 employees if they make up at least 33% of the employer's active 

workforce. Again, this does not count employees who have worked less than 6 months in the last 12 months 

or employees who work an average of less than 20 hours a week for that employer. These latter groups, 

however, are entitled to notice.   

Employment Loss 

The term "employment loss" means: 

 An employment termination, other than a discharge for cause, voluntary departure, or retirement; 

 A layoff exceeding 6 months; or 

 A reduction in an employee's hours of work of more than 50% in each month of any 6-month 

period. 

More Information 

Specific requirements of the Worker Adjustment and Retraining Notification Act may be found in the Act 

itself, Public Law 100-379 (29 U.S.C. 210l, et seq.) The Department of Labor published final regulations on 

April 20, 1989 in the Federal Register (Vol. 54, No. 75). The regulations appear at 20 CFR Part 639. 

 

https://www.doleta.gov/programs/factsht/warn.htm 

Iowa WARN Law 

As with the Federal WARN requirements, an Iowa employer who plans a business closing or a mass layoff 

shall provide notice to the impacted workforce.  Iowa WARN Law stipulates no action until the end of a 

thirty-day period which begins after the employer serves written notice to the affected employees or their 

representatives and to the department. When applicable collective bargaining agreement designates a 

different notice period, the notice period in the collective bargaining agreement shall supersede the notice 

timeframe.  

Iowa WARN Definitions 

“Business closing” means the permanent or temporary shutdown of a single site of employment of one or 

more facilities or operating units that will result in an employment loss for 25 or more employees, other 

than part-time employees. 



“Mass layoff” means a reduction in employment force that is not the result of a business closing and results 

in an employment loss at a single site of employment during any thirty-day period of 25 or more employees, 

other than part-time employees 

WARN Notice Minimum Requirements 

In the event of a temporary or permanent business closure, a notice must be provided. No specific format is 

required the notice, but the following information, at a minimum, should be included in the WARN 

Notice:   

 Name and address of the impacted business; 

 Name and telephone number of a company official to contact; 

 Name and telephone number of the collective bargaining unit(s), (if appropriate); 

 Dates of planned separation; 

 A statement indicating if this action is expected to be permanent or temporary; 

 The expected date of the first separation and schedule for further separations; and 

 The job titles of affected positions and the names of workers currently holding the jobs. 

The WARN notice must be transmitted to affected workers and their collective bargaining representatives, 

to the appropriate unit of local government and to Iowa Workforce Development. 

Enforcement of the WARN legislation is through U.S. District Court. If a business is found to be in 

violation, the employer is liable to pay each employee an amount equal to the pay and benefits the worker 

would have received during the 60-day violation period.  There are certain exceptions to WARN which 

allow for delayed or waiver of notice, it is important to note that an employer is also subject to a civil penalty 

not to exceed $500 for each day of violation. For more information on exceptions, waivers, and other 

WARN Act information, got to: http://www.dol.gov/dol/allcfr/ETA/Title_20/Part_639/toc.htm.  

For Iowa state level Iowa WARN – Iowa Code – Chapter 84C “Iowa Worker Adjustment and Retraining 

Notification Act” information, go to: https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/2014/84C.pdf.   

Table 1: Applicable Laws 

  Iowa Layoff Notification Law Federal WARN Act 

Applies to: Companies with 25 or more employees. Companies with 100 or more employees. 

Goes into effect 

when: 

A permanent or temporary shutdown or mass layoff of 25 

or more employees for a period exceeding 6 months. 

Closing: when 50 or more employees will be 

affected during a 30-day period. 

Mass Layoff: when 500 or more employees or 

33% of the workforce will permanently lose 

their job during a 30-day period. 

Length of notice 

required: 

30-days 60-days 

Information 

required in the 

notice: 

Company Name, Address, Business Contact Information, 

Date of Event, Names and Addresses of Affected 

Employees 

Company Name, Address, Business Contact 

Information, Date of Event, Names and 

Addresses of Affected Employees 

Enforcement 

through: 

Iowa Workforce Development US Department of Labor & United States 

District Courts 

Contact 

information: 

State Rapid Response Coordinator 

Iowa Workforce Development 

1000 East Grand Avenue 

Des Moines, IA  50319 

U.S. Department of Labor 

Employment & Training Administration 

Office of Work-Based Learning 

Room N-5426 



  Iowa Layoff Notification Law Federal WARN Act 

Phone: 515-725-2007 

Fax: 515-281-9641 

Email: dislocated.worker@iwd.iowa.gov 

200 Constitution Avenue NW 

Washington, DC 20210 

Phone: 202-219-5577 

 

All WARN Notices are received by the State Rapid Response (RR) Coordinator in the State Dislocated 

Worker Unit (SDWU).  All WARN Notices, regardless of type, are logged by the RR Coordinator and 

posted to the agency website. 

 Worker Adjustment and Retraining Notification Act Natural Disaster Fact Sheet General Provisions  

The Worker Adjustment and Retraining Notification (WARN) Act requires certain employers to provide at 

least 60 calendar days advance written notice of a plant closing or mass layoff affecting 50 or more 

employees at a single site of employment. The Act makes certain exceptions to the requirements when 

dislocations occur due to natural disasters if the employees are unreachable and the employment site is 

destroyed.  

The following responses represent the U.S. Department of Labor’s best reading of the WARN Act and 

regulations. Employers should be aware that the U.S. Federal Court solely enforces the Act and these 

answers are not binding on the courts:  

 When a plant closure or a mass layoff is the direct result of a natural disaster such as a hurricane, 

flood, earthquake, drought, storm, tidal wave, or similar events caused by nature, employers are 

obligated to give as much notice as possible, even if the notice comes after a disaster. To comply 

with the law, the employer may send notice to the employee’s last known address, even if their 

homes are destroyed. This would indicate good faith. The regulations recognize that the available 

information may be limited.  

 If the plant is destroyed as a result of a natural disaster and the employment records are all gone, 

and the employer cannot send individual notices, the employer should try to show good faith by 

either posting notices at the worksite including a statement that individual notice is not possible 

because the employment records have been destroyed or by providing a notice in a newspaper to 

the same effect or both.  

 If the employer does not have access to its employment site or employees’ last known address, the 

employer should do what it would do if the plant is destroyed. In all likelihood, if the employer 

gave no notice in those circumstances, it may not be held liable for failure. On the other hand, if 

the employer wants to rebuild, it may be in its interest to make efforts to contact its employees to be 

sure it has a workforce when it reopens.  

Additional Information for all WARN Act questions or for more information concerning natural disasters 

under WARN contact: U.S. Department of Labor, Employment and Training Administration Office of 

National Response Division of Worker Dislocation and Special Response 200 Constitution Avenue, N.W., 

Room C5311 Washington, D.C. 20210 (202) 693-3519 

 

 


